Baubles, Bangles, Bright Shiny Beads

Ok, this is a post of sheer self indulgence. I’ve been looking at trinkets, gewgaws, baubles and what have you’s at the S’ant Ambrogio flea market. And I find them quite delicious.

P1030596

Up to now I have at least tried to make my maunderings have some kind of cultural and critical context. This one is just about stuff that I think looks nice.

But I might be in good company.

P1030582

 

P1030583

P1030641

“Colour is what gives jewels their worth. They light up and enhance the face. Nothing is more elegant than a black skirt and sweater worn with a sparkling multi-stoned necklace.”

Christian Dior – he liked the happy, shiny stuff – especially against a tasteful black background.

P1030657

P1030656

P1030629

There is almost an embarrassment of riches.

P1030699

P1030690

P1030698

P1030689

Baubles, bangles,
Hear how they jing, jing-a-ling-a,
Baubles, bangles,
Bright, shiny beads.
Sparkles, spangles,
My heart will sing, sing-a-ling-a,
Wearing baubles, bangles and beads.
I’ll glitter and gleam so,
Make somebody dream so,
That someday he may buy me,
A ring, ring-aling-a,
I’ve heard that’s where it leads,
Wearing baubles and bangles and beads.

From Kismet , by Wright and Forrest, with music by Borodin, from the original play by Edward Knoblock.

P1030697

P1030578

P1030599

The difference between false memories and true ones is the same as for jewels: it is always the false ones that look the most real, the most brilliant.

Salvador Dali

 

Yes. I guess that’s it.

 

 

About pennimania

Artist, entomologist, grumbler.
This entry was posted in Boboli Personality, Pleionexia, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

