Lion Kings

P1030915

I went to the Pitti Palace on Sunday (free on the first of each month – take note people) and although I think the front face of the building is ugly, think Armley jail on a bad day, I was struck by the lively and individual carvings of the lion faces there. The building was completed in 1580 by Bartolomeo Ammannati, who designed the courtyard and added the lion heads on the façade, but I wonder if the lions were all carved by the same person.

P1030920

They certainly have very different personalities which spring out at you.

P1030910

P1030911

Despite the crown this one looks really worried. (And squinty).

P1030921

i notice the different ways the curly mane has been carved and it makes me feel close to the sculptor. (It’s a maker thing).

P1030914

I wouldn’t want to be up close and personal with this one .

P1030909

I found some lions elsewhere in the Museo Galileo in Florence.

P1040195

A beautiful detail from a clock.

P1040204

And (in my opinion) an even more beautiful lion from a terrestrial globe – I would have stolen it if I could. Actually, I don’t mean that, but if I could buy it, I would.

P1030916

P1030910

There are lions everywhere, if you know where to find them.

P1030252P1030253P1030254

About pennimania

Artist, entomologist, grumbler.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

