Madonnas, Mawkins and Mammets

On Sunday I went to the flea market in the Piazza dei Ciompi. I was looking for what passes for lares et penates in contemporary Italy and I was not disappointed.

In case you’re wondering, these were the household gods of the Ancient Romans. The omnivorous and voracious Victorian collector, Henry Willett, described homely domestic ornaments as a ‘kind of unconscious survival’ of these personal and private little gods.

Of course there were madonnas aplenty.

P1030517

P1030519

I noticed that some of them seemed to have had discreet eyeliner and eyebrow threading. I confess to coveting one of these simpering lovelies.

P1030535

Like this one.

P1030572

And this one. And some of the infant figures and cherubs do not bear close examination.

P1030522

I am as unclear what the pink drapery is hiding as I am about what’s lurking under these cunningly placed teddies.

P1030565

And moving on from religious images to mammets ( a doll or puppet; a lifeless figure, an effigy Рaccording to Wikipedia) Рthey were there in spades.

This one appealed to me; s/he appears to be sunbathing nude in a black hole.

P1030594

And this ballerina is dancing blithely while right in front of her a tiny girl is being crucified on a porcelain barrel and a nasty looking mannikin is doing something unpleasant to a chanter.

P1030545

And a pink porcelain corps de ballet kneels near a giantess. Talk about dainty rogues in porcelain.

P1030612

But disquieting as the mammets may be they are as nothing compared to the mawkins – which I have grown up thinking to be a doll that you stick pins in (my husband disagrees).

Ok – this one, ‘armless enough, I suppose.

P1030625

But this one – now I know why I have never played with dollies. That basilisk stare could kill at fifty paces. And is she trying to tip her hat invitingly? Because, if so, it isn’t working for me.

P1030648

Chuckie’s evil younger sister.

P1030700

If you go down to the woods today, you’re sure of a big surprise – blue eyeliner, nail varnish and a brand spanking new knitted layette.

P1030662

Porky boy here is possibly my least favourite.

P1030712

But it’s hard to choose given the bewildering variety.

P1030644

I think I’ll just thwream and thwream until I’m thick.

P1030587

About pennimania

Artist, entomologist, grumbler.
This entry was posted in Boboli Personality, Pleionexia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

