Dancing Beak to Beak.

I think I might have already found my favourite place in Florence. It’s La Specola; the extraordinary zoology museum housed in a old and splendidly dilapidated palazzo.

It is home to a spectacular collection of wax anatomical models. I am not normally a squeamish woman but there’s something about these creations that makes me uneasy. It’s partly that they are lying on yellowing drapes ( complete with discoloured fringing and tassels) which makes me think of Edgar Allan Poe – Ligeia and the House of Usher spring to mind. I find the still fresh tresses and plump young skin disquieting when it’s in such close juxtaposition to apparently newly flayed muscles or exposed bowels.

image

image

However I did like the birds.

P1030403

And there were SUCH a lot of them….

P1030399

P1030405

I started wondering what it would be like if they all came to life suddenly. And I doubt they’d be very happy about being held in such a hugger-mugger fashion.

P1030401

In fact I think they’d be like Rebecca in the eponymous novel by Daphne du Maurier. And they wouldn’t come kindly.

Not they.

About pennimania

Artist, entomologist, grumbler.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

